Foods to avoid with Homozygous MTHFR

This topic contains 20 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Eli 1 year, 1 month ago.

Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)

• Author

Chris

I was diagnosed with MTHFR two days ago and my brain is going to explode trying to figure out whats what with this gene mutation. I was hoping it meant I could now jump higher or run faster than the “normal” people, but thats apparently not the case. Damn it!
    Anyway, simple question for those of you who have been researching MTHFR or doctors who have been treating MTHFR. Again, I am new to this so I apologize if this sounds idiotic. If my body can not break down folic acid shouldn’t I avoid eating any foods high in folic acid? i.e., leafy greens, legumes, avocados, broccoli, asparagus, citrus fruits, ect..? Isn’t that just going to create my issues?
    I am currently not on any type of medications and my homocysteine levels are at 8. No current side effects of the mutation that I am aware of.
    Thank you everyone,
    Chris

July 4, 2012 at 3:44 am #2756

Lynn_M

Chris,
    Yes, you should avoid foods fortified with folic acid. Except your list of foods to avoid isn’t correct because you’re confused about folic acid versus the different forms of folate.

Folic acid is synthetic and is the form added to grain products and many vitamin supplements.

What is found naturally in foods are various forms of folate. There are 5 forms of folate found in foods:
    5-methyltetrahydrofolate, 5-formyltetrahydrofolate, 10-formylfolic acid, 10-formyldihydrofolate and tetrahydrofolate. Unless you have additional uncommon genetic mutations, eating foods with those naturally occurring forms of folate should be beneficial for you.

Which type of MTHFR mutation do you have, and are you homozygous or heterozygous? MTHFR impacts many other biochemical processes in addition to homocysteine.

July 4, 2012 at 1:08 pm #2760

Chris

Thank you Lynn for your reply.